Frequently Asked Questions


Why should I apply for BRESO Certification?

Currently, training across Europe in Breast Surgery is very heterogeneous.  Most often, surgical training certification is achieved after 4-6 years of residency training, which is usually of mixed content. Consequently, at the time of certification, many surgeons will have spent very little time doing breast surgery but will be able to undertake breast surgery, despite a lack of training in this discipline.

BRESO wishes to enhance breast surgery training across Europe, harmonising training and improving standards from the current very variable level. BRESO certification is a quality mark for training in breast cancer surgery. Thanks to BRESO certification, women affected by breast cancer will be treated by specialists trained and accredited in breast surgical oncology


Which BRESO certification should I apply for?

You can apply for the 2-year Training Programme in breast cance surgery during or following completion of standard general, gynaecological or plastic surgery training.
If you  are a surgeon with or over 5 years of experience in breast cancer surgery you can apply for the Retrospective Certification.


How can I apply to the BRESO Training Programme?

Candidates wishing to undertake the BRESO certification programme shall submit a training programme application, which will be reviewed by BRESO Steering Committee. If approved, candidates will have two years to complete the training programme.


Where can I do my training?

You can complete your training at BRESO-approved units. If the breast unit where you would like to complete your training is not BRESO-approved, you can initiate their application here.


I have completed my BRESO training. What should I do now?

Congratulations on completing your training. Please inform our BRESO Secretariat. Together with your mentor, you will have to fill in and submit the forms confirming the successful acquisition of skills.


What is the difference between BRESO Certification and EBSQ exam?

BRESO Certification is acquired following completion of a full training programme in breast cancer surgery (prospective certification) or proven evidence of more than 5 years experience at consultant/attending level (retrospective certification).

The European Breast examination is designed to test whether a candidate has the appropriate level of skills and knowledge to practice as a newly appointed specialist breast surgeon in a European Country (at the completion of specialist training).


What qualifies as a logbook?

A logbook aims to demonstrate the applicant's practical skills with evidence of a prescribed number of index cases being performed and certified evidence of ability to undertake key procedures to a good standard (axillary clearance (ANC), level 1 and 2 oncoplastic surgery (OCBS), wide local excision (WLE), mastectomy (Mx) and skin and nipple sparing mastectomy (SSM/NSM) for example). 


How can I apply for BRESO Retrospective Certification (>5 years experience)?

You have to submit an application form and the documents listed here.


What are the minimum log book requirements to be eligible for retrospective certification?

Summary log book for the past 5 years to confirm minimum of 50 cases treated per year, of which the following must be included: 30 ANCs, 100 SLNB, 50 Mx, 150 BCS and 20 oncoplastic cases (including involvement in post-mastectomy reconstruction and oncoplastic conservation surgery either as lead surgeon or collaborating surgeon within an oncoplastic team).

The applicant must have spent >50 % of time in breast surgery, in specialist breast unit (>150 cases pa.)


What is the administration fee for each application?

Once your application has been approved, you will have to settle the administration fee payment. 
Retrospective Certification - 350 EUR
Training programme - 150 EUR at the start of your training and 200 EUR at the end of your training