• Executive Board
  • Working Groups
  • Key national contacts
  • Advisors
  • Trainee Members
  • Working Groups

    The BRESO Platform is composed of representatives from leading breast cancer organisations and societies.

    Members are divided into 7 Working Groups as follows:

    Recommended Educational Events - Approval 

    Maria João Cardoso (Co-Chair) - Head Breast Surgeon, Breast Cancer Unit, Champalimaud Foundation, Lisbon

    Michael Knauer, CH – Head Breast Surgery, Cantonal Hospital of St. Gallen

    Thorsten Kühn, DE -  Chair of the European Breast Cancer Research Organisation of Surgical Trialists (EUBREAST)

    Retrospective Certification (Senior Surgeons)

    Lynda Wyld, UK (Chair) - Professor of Surgery, University of Sheffield

    Fiona McNeill, UK – Consultant Breast Surgeon, The Royal Marsden, NHS Foundation Trust

    Kerstin Sandelin, SE – Assoc. Professor, Breast, Endocrine and Sarcoma tumors, Karolinska University Hospital

    Prospective Certification (Junior Surgeons)

    Giuseppe Catanuto, IT - Consultant Breast Surgeon, Azienda Ospedaliera Cannizzaro

    Andreas Karakatsanis, SE - Consultant Oncoplastic Breast Surgeon, Breast Surgery Unit, Department of Surgery, Uppsala University Hospital

    Training Centre/ Unit Accreditation and Approval

    Francesco Meani, CH (Co-Chair) - Facutly member of ESCO - College of the European School of Oncology - ESO

    Isabel Rubio, SP (Chair) - President, European Society of Breast Cancer Specialists (EUSOMA)

    Agnieszka Kolacinska, PL – Professor of Surgery, Breast Cancer Unit, Medical University of Lodz, Cancer Center Copernicus Memorial Hospital

    Fabien Reyal, FR - Head of breast cancer, gynecologic cancer and reconstructive surgery, Institut Curie, Paris

    National Network Development

    Zoltan Matrai, HU  - Chair of the Central-Eastern European Breast Cancer Surgical Consortium (CEEBCSC)

    Oreste Gentilini, IT - Head of Breast Surgery And Head of Breast Unit, University and Research Hospital, Milan

    Bahadir Gulluoglu, TR – Professor of Surgery, Breast Surgery Unit, Department of Surgery, Marmara University School of Medicine and SENATURK Turkish Academy of Senology, Istanbul

    Lobbying For Recognition (Public Relations)

    Robert Mansel, UK - Emeritus Professor of Surgery in Cardiff University School of Medicine, Cardiff

    Riccardo A. Audisio, SE - Professor of Surgery, The Sahlgrenska University Hospital Gothenburg

    Alberto Costa, IT - CEO, European School of Oncology (ESO)

    Christos Markopoulos, GR (Chair) – Chair, Division of Breast Surgery, European Board of Surgery of the UEMS (DBS)

    Susan Know, IT - CEO, The European Breast Cancer Coalition (Europa Donna)

    Marzia Zambon, IT - Director of External Affairs, The European Breast Cancer Coalition (Europa Donna)

    Sarah Downey, UK – Consultant Surgeon, Lead for Breast Cancer, James Paget Hospital


    Barbara Klein, IT - Communications Officer, The European Breast Cancer Coalition (Europa Donna)

    Other members to be appointed